Muncie doctor elected to American Medical Association delegation – Muncie Journal


By Steve Cooke—

Roberto Darroca, MD, is the past president of ISMA.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.– The Indiana State Medical Association (ISMA) elected its officers and delegation members from the American Medical Association (AMA) at its 172nd annual convention, held from 10 to September 12, 2021. The event has taken place virtually for the second year due to the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Elizabeth Struble, MD, North Manchester, is sworn in as ISMA President for 2021-2022. Pardeep Kumar, MD, Terre Haute, was sworn in as ISMA President-elect.

The other ISMA officers were sworn in: Speaker of the House of Delegates, Andrew Trobridge, MD, Fishers; Deputy Speaker of the House of Delegates, Alexander Choi, MD, Zionsville; Treasurer, William Pond, MD, Fort Wayne; and assistant treasurer, Shalin Arnett, DO, Vincennes.

Roberto Darroca, MD, Muncie, who served as ISMA President for 2020-2021, was sworn in as a member of the ISMA delegation to the American Medical Association (AMA). He was elected to complete the remaining one-year term of a former alternate delegate.

Additional members of the ISMA delegation to WADA were also sworn in. WADA delegates who were re-elected include Michael Hoover, MD, Evansville; William Mohr, MD, Kokomo; and David Welsh, MD, Batesville. Alternate delegates who were re-elected include Deepak Azad, MD, Floyds Knobs; Heidi M. Dunniway, MD, Evansville; and Stacie Wenk, DO, Evansville.

A resident of Muncie, Dr Darroca is an Obstetrician-Gynecologist with the Community Physician Network and is affiliated with the Anderson Community Hospital. He received his medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine and completed residencies at Miami Valley Hospital in Dayton, Ohio, and Ball Memorial Hospital, now IU Health Ball Hospital, in Muncie. He is certified by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology and is a member of the American Medical Association.

Prior to assuming the ISMA Presidency in 2020, Dr Darroca served as President-elect and Speaker of the House of Delegates. He also chaired the ISMA Opioid Prescribing Task Force and served as a Director and Member of the Legislation Commission.

With over 9,300 members, ISMA is Indiana’s largest professional membership organization dedicated to physicians, medical students, and the practice of medicine.

About the Indiana State Medical Association

With more than 9,300 members, the Indiana State Medical Association (ISMA) is the state’s largest professional membership organization and is dedicated to maximizing the impact of physicians. Learn more about ISMA by visiting and following them on Facebook @theISMA and Twitter @theISMA.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.